CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Robin trying hard to feed

We are having a lazy Saturday, with no plans to do anything we don't want to do.

After a cup of soup and some cheese on toast, Helena pointed out the birds were madly feeding after she had stocked up their feeders. I gathered my bits and went back tot he cabin for another bash at blipping the birds.

Of course, as soon as I had set up there were no takers. The light was going with the setting sun's rays shining through low cloud on Rodborough Common, just above Butterow opposite to us. The temperature was dropping quickly too.

A few goldfinches, tits and blackcaps had been milling about, and I did see a few of them, but only a tit and a blackcap came to where I was focusing. Helena had seen a Great Spotted Woodpecker earlier, and it returned just as I was retiring, so I only managed two frames of it perched on the tall pole, silhouetted.

But I did see this Robin gallantly trying to get to the feeder. I thought I was in TV mode, but wasn't, so my shutter speed was very low. I always thought Robins din't use feeders or more likely couldn't. But they seem to be trying to learn how to do it. This particular robin was a bit ungainly, managing to hover but not land easily. Perhaps their claws aren't as well suited to gripping small thin branches as other birds who live mostly above ground in trees.

I will be trying to do more of these sort of shots from the cabin, so I warn you in advance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.