Brand New Day

By brandnewday

There's more to love.

- Backblip -

Yesterday's blip for World Aids Day got me thinking that there still seems to be a misconception that HIV & AIDS are gay issues (am I right in thinking this is the case?), which then got me thinking about how gay people can't officially become married. Civil partnership is a great step forward, but why not marriage?

The party line seems to be that a marriage is the union of a man and woman, and nothing seems to be changing the minds of those in charge.

However, in my mind a marriage is a union between two people. Period. With that in mind, when you read marriage in the rest of my blip, I'm talking about a civil partnership but I refuse to call it that.

The book that's in today's blip was actually one of the readings at my friends' marriage, and for those that don't know the story, I would recommend that you read it. Yes, it's a kids story, but it also contains a great analogy for tolerance, understanding, acceptance and being different to the "norm". I've bought the book for a couple of my nieces and nephews and this copy is for another nephew when he's old enough to appreciate it. I'd never heard of the story until my friends Dad read it that day of the wedding, but thought it was fantastic, and I think I can safely say that when he spoke after the reading there wasn't a dry eye in the house.

Anyway, this blip is dedicated to my friends T & G who are currently in the third year of their marriage and I wish them all the very best for what the future holds.


There's More To Love - The Communards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.