An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Ordinary Angel...

Glow Big!

I'm still shaking my head at this one!

Although I haven't been a church goer for many a year, I still volunteer to deliver the church flowers on a quarterly basis. Usually they are given to an old dear who's been ill, someone recently bereaved or for happier reasons such as a new baby in the family.

Well it was my turn to deliver today so toddled off to collect the flowers. Once given the name and address of the recipient, I enquired as to the purpose of the delivery (not wanting to arrive all cheery if the poor woman had just lost her husband) and was told the said lady had been a little unwell recently but was hopefully now on the mend.

Just as I was leaving, I was called back by a member of the congregation and told that the lady I was delivering to had had a bit of a "falling out" with the church and that it was highly likely that upon delivering the flowers, I would get some verbal abuse as her church elder had already been ranted at, as had the volunteer who deliveres her church magazine!!!!!

Once I lifted my jaw off the floor I was on my way. Five minutes later I pulled up outside her house, fully prepared to be ranted at and with, what I thought a cracking retort a gracious response if required.

Sadly the lady was out! Left the flowers on her doorstep as I wasn't taking them home and redelivering later (I live in a different town). No doubt that will have been the wrong thing to do.

It's "good Christians" like this that turned me off the church in the first place! Sheesh! I'm glad I'm just an Ordinary Angel! ;-))

Anyhoo, got home and have spent the afternoon going over the Christmas things I have already bought (not much!) and about to do an online Christmas shop (if I can drag myself away from Blip....you lot are much more fun very distracting!

After dinner, a wee drambuie will be poured and I will start writing my cards. Well that's the plan :-))

Oh and talking of ordinary angels, if someone could arrange for Pat Kane to be in my Christmas stocking, I would be extremely grateful.

Thank you.

;-)) xx



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.