Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nuts!

Didn't have a lot of time to get shots today - had some time sensitive work, plus dentist appointment (which totally terrifies me, really, I'd rather have brain surgery again...) Then, I wanted to finish putting deer fencing around our second weeping cherry, which made the birds nervous. Blah, blah, blah - one excuse after another...

I tried some close ups of flowers (store bought, of course, being that it is winter here) but wasn't loving any of them. Then, along came a nuthatch right in front of my nose practically. He "anked" me a few times - it is a peculiar sound that they make when the approach the feeder, a very soft noise - then he settled in for a peanut feast. Funny little birds, the nuthatches.

I have decorated the deck with pine bows and holly sprigs, the latter with bright red berries - yes, it is a shameless attempt to lure some blue birds close enough for a shot, or maybe a robin or a mocking bird... And, it looks pretty and festive.

Here's to Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.