Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Return of the elusive Jumping Spider...

First, a big thanks for the warm response to yesterday's Titmouse blip. Sadly, I forgot to to bring their stocking in last night and "someone" (read: squirrel) chewed a hole in the stocking! A small repair job is now in order...

I was talking to my mom this morning which reminded me of the hilarious Christmas Spider she made for me several years ago and which has a special place at the head of the stairs during the holiday season. Mom wondered if Boris might be making a blip appearance this year ... which got the little bells going off in my head ... ding, ding, ding!

So, I put Boris in one of the flower pots that serves as a bird feeder in winter and waited to see what would happen. The titmice were freaked out by Boris, and refused to get near - I'm thinking that their propensity to eat spiders in the summer may have been haunting them. Then, along came Dudley, who was also freaked out by Boris, but decided to make himself very long in an effort to sneak up on Boris. That didn't work out well and resulted in Boris jumping off the deck and having to be rescued... Then Dudley returned with one of his union buddies to mount a multi-pronged attack...that didn't work either and both squirrels retreated to the woods to plot.

Dudley finally worked up his courage, seen here, and closed in to snatch a peanut from the gaping maw of the killer spider. (Okay, slight exaggeration ... call it literary license.)

I'm am having WAY too much fun with my Christmas series of blips - hope you don't get tired of them because there is still 20 days to go... I am sure you haven't seen the last of Boris, either...

Maybe Vodkaman or Paladian can help us with an ID on this hairy guy...

Happy Humpday, People!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.