Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Berries and a Nut

Just a quick one today - I wanted to pay homage to the white breasted nuthatch . As you may recall, I found one on the deck this week (very dead) and it's been on my mind since it happened. Death is always troubling and probably more so as I get older. There is an inevitability to dying - it is perhaps the only certainty in life. That doesn't make it any easier, though, does it?

Anyway, this isn't intended to be a morose blip - it is actually my little way of celebrating life. As you can see, this little nuthatch is alive and well - what you can't see is that she was waiting patiently for a downy woodpecker to leave the peanut feeder so that she could eat her fill. Life goes on.

My photo mojo is still off kilter. Maybe I just need the weekend to get me back on track ... or maybe I need a vacation...

Other pics from today...
Dark eyed junco (slate backed)
and
black capped chickadee

Thank you for the comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's sharpie - no signs of him today, but the feeder birds are all nervous. And who can blame them?

Twenty sleeps until Christmas...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.