Winter sunrise

Winter has definitely arrived, at last. The ice on the windscreen was very firmly attached this morning, and the route of my walk round Ferry Meadows was determined by the desire to minimise walking into the bitterly cold westerly wind.

I arrived just before dawn, as the sun was filling the sky with golden light. The wind was ruffling the inky blue water, and this sunrise had a very different feel from the one I captured early in October. Walking round was made treacherous by areas of black ice, especially on the pontoon bridge crossing the lakes, which I tottered over, hanging tightly onto the rails. The usual birds were around, but it was good to see a spring of teal (I knew that collective noun would come in useful one day!) on the smallest lake.

Back home to another day of decorating. Unfortunately the cold even affected that!! I was putting a second coat on some of the woodwork in our living room , including a door to the unheated garage. I knew it felt cold as I painted the door, but I hadn't realised how cold. When I came back to see how the paint had dried I found it had all cracked and peeled. On referring to the tin, I noted that the paint shouldn't be applied below 10C, and I suspect the garage is probably only about 5 or 6c! I think a portable heater will be required if I'm to get it finished this week!

I'm really struggling to keep up with comments at the moment. I'm so grateful to all those who continue to comment on my photographs, even when I can't always reciprocate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.