Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Coming Full Circle

I was wrong when I wrote about the impending pecan harvest back in November.

The harvest begins after the leaves fall off the trees.  The harvest is late this year because of the warm November we experienced.

Colder weather opens the shells. The stems die and the pecans fall off the trees when the trees are shook.  

The trees are shaken and the pecans are harvested by machine. When shaking, they need to be careful not to damage the bark.   The bare trees are trimmed after the pecans have been harvested.

Check out the seasons and compare the life cycle of the grove.  I know I've compared them before, but now they have come full circle.

January 24
April 26
September 16
November 5

Three more nights of hard freezes expected.  I have all of my cacti covered.  I have a bunch more than I had this time last year so I needed more covers.  I had to cut up a queen size sheet, use a couple of wash cloths, and a bucket.  I am vowing not to lose anything this year.  

I have to get more insulation for my outdoor pipes, too, but haven't had the chance to get to the hardware store.  Just crossing my fingers that my pipes don't freeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.