Chronic Sunshine

By ChronicSunshine

Home is Wherever I'm With You

"The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned." ~ Maya Angelou

When my grandmother passed away, I headed down to Florida with my parents and my brother. M stayed behind to take care of Sophie and work, so we would still have some money coming in while I was away. He wanted to come but I insisted that I was ok, I could handle it.

I couldn't. It was horrific. In every way. How I regretted not letting him go with me! I was so intent on getting home after that emotionally exhausting week that even when my Dad insisted that we get a hotel at 1:00 AM because we were all looking quite zombie-like, I flatly refused. We were only five hours from home and nothing was going to stop me! Except the blinding snow storm that we ran smack into in Hartford, Connecticut. That woke us ALL up! We pulled into my driveway at 6:00 AM on a cold Monday morning. I was drained in every way: physically, mentally and emotionally. I walked into the kitchen...and there was the homemade banner.

"WELCOME HOME"

It filled me with so much relief, joy, happiness and love. I was home. And never again would I try to deal with something that monumental in my life without my partner, my best friend, my love, my soul mate, by my side.

My grandmother died October 31, 2010. My grandfather passed just five weeks later. M went with me on that trip and it made a world of difference!

It's been over a year since I lost both my grandparents. That empty space in my life where they used to be continues to hurt, especially since the 1 Year Anniversary just passed. I miss what was. I miss what wasn't.

And the banner is still up.

Welcome Home. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.