Chronic Sunshine

By ChronicSunshine

A Life in Pictures

"A room hung with pictures is a room hung with thoughts." ~ Joshua Reynolds

Today was not a normal day. M's Uncle's mother passed away this morning. M & I spent the day helping his family make arrangements and take care of any loose ends. I drove their son, J, to his doctors' appointment to get his wrist cast off. M and I then babysat J and his sister, K, while their mom and my mom went to pick out flowers for the casket. For the remainder of the evening, we made picture posterboards to put up in the funeral home. We laughed and cried, talking about old stories and good times.

Looking at the two posterboards full of pictures, I thought to myself: "This is her life! 83 years of it! How can you possibly fit someone's entire life on two posterboards?"

The answer is, you can't.

Tomorrow we have the calling hours. Friday is the funeral. M and I both took the day off from work to support the family. It will be a very sad couple of days.

And I find the chilling, pouring rain quite appropriate.

Side note, M picked these silver dollar plants for me a couple years ago. They dry out quite nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.