Strength

My trip today to visit the bridges was two fold. Firstly to attach a Scottish flag to the railings and take an image for 'Scotland the World Over', and secondly to gain strength from these amazing towers.

So, picture the freezing gail blowing off the sea from the arctic looking, snow covered North, me, a small flag, some blu-tak and a camera. Unsurprisingly the flag wouldn't stick and when I held the flag it just bent double with the wind blowing against it. Shortly after I abandoned the idea a great big wave came right over. Thankfully I had my back to the sea by now and my camera was saved. I on the other hand was not and drove home a little wetter than I may have liked. I smell of salty sea dog though which is quite refreshing!

Yesterday mum called to ask if I knew where this was and that was in her house. I have yet to make an inventory of everything she has and where, but will need to soon. Later she called to say she was up the ladder and ..........

So today, to stop her from going up any more ladders (aged 74 - and not fit at that), I put up the decorations. I was transported to last year when Dad sat in the chair and directed me like any good foreman. I could still hear him in my ear today, infact, he and I had a good laugh, especially when Mum kept loosing things. Some things in life are constants and are reassuring, my parents (over) decorations are just that - a great comfort.



Edit- one year ago - one of my favourite images. Interesting to read that I hadn't realised its potential.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.