Lunch out...

Like most of Britain, the weather today has been fairly dire - high winds, grey skies and squally showers. Though we've had nothing compared to Scotland, with winds of 165mph recorded at Cairngorm summit, or other parts of northern and western Britain.

I painted my obligatory wall early in the day (only one left to go in the living room!) and then headed out for a bit of Christmas shopping, before going for a working lunch at Prezzo's. I soon remembered exactly why I hate Christmas shopping - hot shops, crowds, long queues and nothing you want to buy in the right size. I did help three people in M&S (including two members of staff) who were having immense trouble working out 25% of £18, even with a calculator!

I'd taken my camera into Peterborough in the hope of grabbing a festive view, but the City has rarely looked more drab and down at heel. So I sat down to lunch without having taken any shots. As my salad arrived I commented that it was the most photogenic thing I'd seen all day (well, wouldn't everybody?) and was persuaded to stand up and photograph it by my three friends.

So today I bring you an Arrosto salad - a delicious confection of goat's cheese and tomato on a herb ciabatta, with a leaf salad containing baby tomatoes, pepper, artichoke hearts, toasted onions and olives with a balsamic drizzle. I can truly say it was delicious! And the meeting was very productive too - several exciting Wildlife Trust events planned for next spring and summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.