Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Cracked ice

After the wonderful day yesterday, I've felt decidedly uninspired today. I woke up with a nasty headache, and the prospect of attempting to clean and tidy the family room in preparation for putting up Christmas decorations was not enthralling.

We managed to get out for an hour with the dogs, and I was taken with the angular shapes of this broken and re-frozen ice, which covered a backwater of the Nene. I can only assume that someone took a barge through to the mooring point, as I would have thought taht the ice was too thick to be broken by birds, even swans. The main river now has ice over about three-quarters of its width - something I've never seen before.

It's supposedly a bit warmer today, with the daytime temperature hovering just above freezing, but a brisk north-easterly wind actually made it feel much colder. My cheeks are still bright red from the wind! A thaw is predicted so this may be one of the last icy pictures for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.