She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

Happy Birthday to you...

...happy birthday to you. Happy Birthday dear Marc. Happy birthday to you!

In case you hadn't guessed, it's Marc's first birthday today. It just seems like yesterday that there was over a foot of snow outside my house and I was worrying about how I would get my wife safely to the hospital when the moment came. Memories of the day/night are varied but they nearly all revolve around what Karen went through. It was nothing like the first time around, when Jason was born. From the young student doctor who witnessed and assisted in her first birth (and accepted a rather bogging sick bowl without flinching) to the anaesthetist who looked, and sounded, like she had just arrived on the ward from a night out clubbing (I wasn't sure if my wife was going to get an epidural or a deal so she could self medicate, and the face pulling exercises didn't help), nothing really went as I expected.

So here we are, one year on, and Marc has changed so much. I'm looking forward to watching him grow and change even more, along with his big brother Jason.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.