Don

This man is legend in Gairloch High School.

Don is the head of History and Guidance, and the kids love him.

This is not a good photograph, but it shows the moment when Don sat down after his speech, marking his retirement, and the children gave him a standing ovation - I have never seen the like in our school before.

He gave a moving speech, and the crux for me was when he asked that the pupils do something for him.

They should make a promise to him to never make any other person unhappy; to never cause unhappiness in what they say or do, to never make someone miserable, - especially using the modern bully methods of a mobile phone or the internet.

Maybe the camera shake is therefore understandable.

Quite a man, and I don't envy the young probationer teacher who has to follow in his footsteps.

I only hope that when I give Don the link to this entry, that he forgives the use of the internet to pay my own wee tribute to a great man. Happy retirement, Don!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.