Little Blue, Big Splash!

This is a Little Blue Heron (Egretta caerulea)--producing the biggest splash (relative to the bird) that I think I have ever captured (it was going after a tiny fish, as it does all day). Also enjoy the linear reflection patterns--they too are unusual in my experience.

We're at Estero Lagoon at Fort Myers Beach FL, very late in the afternoon with the sun in clouds; I had to up the exposure of the RAW file by one stop to get near this degree of lightness. A cold front passed through last night, with strong winds in the morning which let up by the afternoon.

I'm pleased to post a Little Blue, following an extended series of comments with Gilliebg about the Tricolored Heron I blipped at the beginning of our Florida trip--which she argued was a Little Blue Heron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.