Reddish Egret Stalking

Action at the southern end of (Little) Estero Lagoon, Fort Myers Beach. This Reddish Egret (Egretta rufescens) is engaged in what is called canopy feeding, using its wings to generate a reflection (or a shadow, on a brighter day) that reduces glare and can attract small fish. View it large--and step back :)

This was our final full day in Florida--unfortunately cloudy. But I might well have wished for this very shot--of one of my favorite herons (the family comprising herons and egrets). The reddish egret is probably the most active of all the herons, often seeming to dance in exactly this sort of activity, dramatically extending its head and neck plumes.

In a reply I linked to a page of photos from Fort Myers Beach from December 2004, exactly seven years ago; I thought I'd put it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.