Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

By Hand!!!

So came the day! I HAD to go into college and teach.

And so I did. But didn't manage anything else, except stopping at the doctor's to pick up my prescription, which was also essential, otherwise I'll get withdrawal symptoms from my anti-fruit-loop medication!

It was an odd morning. The external assessor was in college, and was supposed to be watching our class. However, it all got swapped around because, of the three of us who were meant to be teaching this morning, only one was actually teaching a normal lesson. I had a weird lesson (almost entirely conducted on the overhead projector and the whiteboard and with me whispering bits where I could manage), and the other person who was meant to be teaching didn't come in at all because she'd been burgled yesterday evening and had to wait in for the police to arrive, so the tutor took her bit instead.

I was amused during the lesson by 2 things. The first was one of the students trying to describe a plumber without knowing the English word - he described "a mechanic of the pipework of your bathroom", which I thought was a rather nice way of putting it!

The other, was when I looked at the bottle of pop from which I was drinking (I usually drink water, but when my voice is bad I can't cope with water because it feels scratchy, whereas pop doesn't). I was amused to note that feet should not be used for opening the bottle!!!!

After the lesson I was shattered, although did go to the meeting with the assessor, and pointed out a few good and bad things about the course (just a few - wouldn't want to cause ructions - that'd be SO out of character ;-))!! I was pleased to note that my teaching practice file was all in perfect order and I didn't have to do anything to get it sorted - one of the advantages of OCD is an ability to file everything meticulously and neatly and to impress the less organized members of our species!

I then walked back to the car, which was parked at the Wonderspouse's office - bless him, he'd booked the visitor's parking permit for me for the day so I didn't have to bother with 3.5 mile walks or buses.

Then I came home, via the doctor's, and fell asleep on the sofa.

Now I'm home alone until latish, because the Wonderspouse is out at a "do" at the Albion Beatnik bookstore, which I should have been at. In fact, I should have been playing my viola at it, but am simply not well enough.

I hope there'll be another time.

Health (or lack of it) really is tediously boring I think. In the healthy world I'm pretty rubbish (bipolar asthmatic with fertility worse than a giant panda, high blood pressure, dodgy hip and destructed ankle, who picks up every bug going at the moment). However, in the circles in which I move I'm one of the healthy specimens - many of my close family and friends are on even more pills than I am, and rather a lot of them seem to be ending up in hospital on a regular basis at the moment!

Wouldn't it be nice if we could get new bodies when ours went wrong?

Maybe one day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.