The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Hailstorm

The promenade at Sandside looking down the Kent estuary to the Arnside viaduct and Grange-over-Sands. I watched the hailstorm moving south-eastwards up and across the estuary towards me. The morning light was unusual and a small patch of blue was briefly left before being blotted out by the storm. When this was taken, the hail had already reached me (leaving a few telltale signs in this image - see reference to PS editing skills below).

I went out in the morning shortly after sun up to look for a blip before catching the train to Warrington for an afternoon meeting.

Thanks you to everyone who viewed and commented so kindly on yesterday's 500th blip. The response was overwhelming and I don't think I will ever catch up to be able to thank you individually.

I learned yesterday that self-portraits are not simple to do when using natural light and large apertures with little depth of field, just positioning yourself is difficult enough while getting the focus right is almost impossible. That sounds like a good enough excuse not to make a habit of it. I also learned how primitive my editing skills are with Photoshop (though I knew that anyway), it took a large number of attempts before I managed to blend the SP image with that taken first thing of the raindrop bokeh coloured by the street lamp outside our house.

The thing I omitted to do yesterday was thank Wifie for her forbearance, or maybe endurance, of this blipping business. There are times when she must have felt like a blip widow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.