[blowfish]

By blowfish

arts

Walked to the Kimbell today to see the Caravaggio and His Followers exhibit. Should have been called something like Caravaggio Followers with the Occasional Caravaggio Painting Thrown In. Still amazing to see but the stuff I remember from the National Gallery in London was not there--but that experience then was a different lifetime ago so it still wouldn't have been the same had they managed to borrow those more famous works. And I couldn't resist picking up a book in the Kimbell's stunning art bookstore either. Every time I go there I think back to my time as a used book buyer--I am a sucker for the immaculate editions (of anything) put out by Phaidon, Taschen, and Braun--those Germans really know how to make gorgeous art and architecture books. Then, to end my visit, I sat out in their little shaded pavillion for a cup of coffee and piece of mocha pecan pie (I am turning into my father--he goes to art museums for the cafes and bookstores more so than the art, I think).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.