Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Under the Sea

This is another mock-up for a mini desktop diorama/shadow box that I'm making to sell in my Etsy store (see yesterday's blip for more background). This one is based on a drawing I did a year ago called "The Happy Whale." I've simplified the drawing quite a bit for this little diorama. I'm still deciding on how to finish the outside of the shadow box. Right now they are just pieces of foam core glued together. I'm thinking I will cover the foam core with papier mache (newspaper strips soaked in a glue/water mix) and then painting it. These are fairly small - the box is approximately 3 x 3 inches and about 3 and a quarter inches deep. They look really cool on a desk top under a lamp. I've got an opening in the top so that light can shine down and illuminate the inside. It's amazing how just a little light coming in through the top lights them up. I hope they will sell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.