OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Rusty panel

Usually when I go to Burray, I walk the west of the island and go over to Hunda, but today I headed east from the north end of Barrier #4. There was a bitter wind and I was glad I was wearing the gloves I bought yesterday in the new Birsay Farmers shop. I say gloves but they are actually those fingerless gloves cum mittens. Very useful when it's cold but you want to use the camera etc. Maybe not very fashionable but I didn't meet any fashion commentators on my walk so that was ok.
There was a nice group of sanderlings on the beach as I headed along the low cliffs past Sea Taing, Sea Geo, Wife's Geo and Grey Stones to Burray Ness. I passed a derelict WWII , think. I hadn't really noticed before...not much of it left, where I took this shot. I must look up the site. An odd thing I found was an enormous dead lobster. Perhaps the sea weas so rough in the last few days that it was simply thrown onto the shore. No birds had yet scavenged it. I only went as far as the cemetery by Kirk Taing and then headed along the road to the village. Couple more shots here.

Update: it was a WWI heavy anti-aircraft battery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.