OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Gulls

The one on the left is a herring gull (larus argentatus) which is common enough round here, but the one on the right is an iceland gull (larus glaucoides). The name is a bit off because it breeds in northern Canada and Greenland but not Iceland.

I've seen a few this winter already, though; Orkney is quite good for 'white-winged' gulls like this and the glaucous gull .

I saw this one from my living-room window and grabbed my camera. Some chunks of bread lured him to the lawn.

Later, I went a short cycle to Scapa Bay. Most of the pier was fenced off as the tanker Clipper Burgundy was loading.

I noticed some stuff floating in the bay and realised that is was a lobster boat which is normally moored there and which must have sunk in the recent storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.