Journeys day by day

By KathleenS

Apologies...

It's a bit blurry because I just don't have the camera to do this yet. Soon, although after today I may be regretting not ordering something with a massive zoom with a sturdy tripod.

I decided today was the day, after hearing of the arrival of Snowy owls in the area, to finally visit the Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge. There had been reports of one there this week, and also an egret that had strayed further north than they usually do. I found the egret, but no owl to be seen today. I could not zoom in on the egret, so my blip choices today were the ruby crowned kinglet that had his back to me (this came in #2), the acrobatic black capped chickadee (which was probably the most clear photo, but lost because they're backyard birds to me), or this guy, an American Bittern. I went with the Bittern because it's the one I'll least likely find on a return trip, it's not a common sight, and he is assuredly a really cool bird. You'd never know it, but this guy has a huge long neck reminiscent of a heron. I noticed him when he was shaking his backside back and fourth looking like he was about to lunge on some unseen underwater meal.

I loved this place so much I got an annual pass. We had eagles and red tailed hawks buzz just over our heads, and there is an huge waterfowl population...I saw the typical mallards and Canada geese, but also teals, coots, buffleheads, wigeons, gulls...and more that I need to identify. There's a freshwater marsh, a salt marsh, a riparian forest, some grasslands and wetlands...a place to attract all sorts. Lots of friendly photographers with huge cameras/tripods this morning chatting me up about where to find the good stuff even though I just had the tiny point and shoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.