Watchful Angel in the blue sky

The sky is so blue today!

I cycled to the gym to do an Aqua class and got chatting to a lady in the changing room afterwards, I mentioned that I have just been to Siberia and she told me about her Polish Mother and Parents who were sent to a Siberian POW camp when her Mother was 7, the children huddled together on top of the massive Aga for warmth, her parents died en route to Samarkand Uzbekistan and she became an orphan and forgot how to speak Polish, from there she was moved from Tehran to Kazahkstan and then to Mombassa where she lived in a mud hut, it was only at the age of 16 that an Aunt living in London traced her whereabouts and she was re-united with her sister and other family members.
What a story, I found it very moving and thought provoking, the things that people survive and the pain and loss that people have to bear.... born in peace time and never having experienced war of any kind I feel fortunate today and am reminded yet again that I really don't have anything to complain about.

This Angel stands on a grave in Teddington Cemetery dated 1942 and reads

In loving memory of
our little darling
ROY ALWYNE LEWIS
who fell asleep 5th October 1942
aged 5 years and 2 months

our little darling said soft & sweet
Mummy I am going to sleep
when he awakens with the dawn
we shall see our son reborn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.