Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Gigantic Bruise!

First, I should say, this is not MY bruise! It belongs to my dear friend Scharwenka, and his blip for Saturday explains how he acquired it! I've cropped it a bit in order to keep it decent, since it is at the "lower end of his back"! He's given me permission to blip it though! I have to say, it's the most impressive bruise I've seen in a long time, and the only time I've had anything that impressive myself was when I, too, took a tumble downstairs and destroyed my right ankle many years ago.

So, I finished work on the assignments at around 11 or so last night. I then had a bath, drank a glass of gin and schloer (we don't have any tonic), and went to bed, where my head was a bit too full for me to sleep properly.

We got up at the usual early hour (around 5.45 this morning I think), then went into college for the LAST MONDAY of the course! Sessions today were on different sorts of English tests, IELTS and so on, on using songs for teaching language, and on interviews and getting jobs in the real world. Looks like I'll be writing a new CV over the festive season then!!!

Afterwards I got the bus up to Scharwenka's, where I admired his impressive bruise and had lunch. We then went out on an expotition, first to Pets at Home to get industrial quantities of cat food and a few bits and bobs for the rodents, then to Aldi to start shopping for next week's traditional pheasant lunch.

Then the Wonderspouse came round and he and Mrs Scharwenka spoke Latin in stereo (interesting that my spouse and my best friend's spouse both did English, Latin and History for A-Level, whereas my best friend and I both did Maths, Physics and Chemistry)!!

Then we came home, and now the Wonderspouse is making roast potatoes to go with leftover duck for supper! Nice!

Today's activity with Scharwenka was rather different from that when I first met him, exactly 23 years ago today. Back then he was still at work, a senior academic at Christ Church, Oxford, and I was a schoolgirl attending for an admissions interview. I remember drawing a graph for him and labelling the axes wrongly, and I remember him asking me how the colours on puddles with oil in them were formed. Whatever I said must have been good, because I got in!

Who'd have known that 23 years later we'd be best of friends, he'd be showing me his bruise, and I'd be taking him on an expotition to get pet supplies!

Funny how life goes - I went to Oxford expecting to get a Chemistry degree. I never got it, since I changed to Music and got a degree in that instead.

However, I did meet my best friend there, and also discovered the person who eventually became the Wonderspouse!

Wonder what I'd have thought if you'd told me that on interview day, 23 years ago?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.