Lightbulb moments

After a shocker of a night's sleep i.e. none of it, due to a murderous headache that I really started to worry about, I got up and went to work. A combination of paracetamol, dihydrocodeine, and two ibuprofen finally knocked the headache away by lunchtime. Felt like I was fighting through sludge to do even the simplest things.

However, the day has turned out to be productive and I have had some interesting, frank, professional conversations today which have caused me to reflect again on the fact that it is a priviledge to be a teacher.

Sometimes we are the switch that turns on the light for our students. Sometimes we are the one who guides them through the dark to find the switch for themselves. Sometimes, they don't need us and they find the switch, flick it on and fill the room with light without our intervention at all. Sometimes it's bloody hard work to find the switch, but when you do, it's worth it.

As James nears the end of his first term, I have reflected upon his progress, and that of my own students. I have observed his enthusiasm for certain subjects, instilled by inspiring teachers, with high expectations that he wants to live up to. I wonder whether I do this - I think I do - if we don't set the bar high, then how can we expect that they will stretch themselves to jump it?

I noticed tonight the change in the quality of work in James' maths book. He has had a new teacher in the past 2 weeks - "she explains it to me and I understand it now" - clearly this is the case, and her expectations and follow up have resulted in a radical change in work rate, understanding and quality - it is apparent from his book. More importantly, he is enjoying it again.

The thing that just blew me away tonight was a poem he has written for English. It's wonderful, and I wish I could draw the imagery that it has conjured in my head:

"The sea is like a roaming lion
Rough and vicious
Looking for something delicious.
Ships and sand are it's favourite meal.

Fish swim freely in it's depths
Locked in a battle for supremacy with their predators.
Whales splash as the wind roars.
Nothing can calm this watery beast.

Who would have thought a sailor's nightmare could be so calm.
The waves playfully roll like an excited puppy.
Like a young child's dream
Nothing is simpler"


I have not met his English teacher yet, but it is clear that she inspires him and he wants to do well for her. So I would like to thank her for allowing my boy to find his light-switch, and to all of you teachers out there who work hard every day, thank you too, because you do so much to inspire our young people, despite what the media would have us all believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.