What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Reality Checkpoint

It rained again today, I think the weather is making up for November.... I just want it to get it together and snow - rain I don't like, but snow I can get on board with! On the bright side it did give a lovely effect on the path in this shot, and it is very helpful that the person nearest the camera is blurring away as well...

This is another Blip of Parker's Piece, from where I shot the Hunter the other day, this time looking toward Reality Checkpoint, which is the cluster of streetlamps creating the beacon in the middle of the photo. This cluster sits square in the middle of the Piece and is generally considered to mark the border between Cambridge Town and the University buildings - hence its name. Students passing from the university into the town suddenly find themselves back in reality... or it could be the other way around depending on which pubs they visited in Mill Road.

There's quite a few theories about the name (though the student/real life barrier is my favourite), and you can read about all of them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.