hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

Raging

I got this bill today, to my horror.

I complained last Monday to the electrician who rewired my kitchen 4 years ago that the plug behind the washing machine had stopped working and the switch seized up. I pointed out that it shouldn't have gone wrong within that length of time. He agreed that it may be faulty and said he would send someone to investigate, and, I quote, "We will get this replaced for you".

I had stopped using this firm because they have previously billed me for replacing faulty goods, and when I had the kitchen done they charged me extra for work that I had asked for as part of the quote. I could have got it done at half the price from a friend, but I was making the complaint under my consumer rights. I even asked the man who called out (who was here for a total of 10 minutes) if I was being billed and said he wasn't to do any work if I was going to be. He said he'd been told to replace it.

So would a reasonable person think this was being done as a repair for faulty parts or workmanship? I did.

I phoned to complain tonight and an incredibly rude man told me they didn't bother doing quotes for jobs this small and if I'd wanted one I should have asked. I said I didn't need a quote because it was a complaint about work done, not a new job. I also pointed out it might be a tiny job to him, but that is a significant proportion of my weekly income. Wishing to insult me further, he said "well, our electricians get paid a lot more than you do".

I'm awaiting a callback from them tomorrow. I'm also drafting my e-mail to Trading Standards.

I'm off to fume some more and to try not to drown Alexander in the bath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.