Friday Foto

By drmackem

Where are the Angels?

Blipping completely went out of my head during the light hours today, so I looked about after evening meal and I spied this angel out for the season.

I'm not usually one to even notice ornements are around, but kind of like this one.
Last year late November I was out in Vilnius, Lithuania doing some teaching of GPs. The centre and old Town of Vilnius is really a beautiful city. I found this angel in a shop in the old town. This was my second trip to Vilnius and I have found the folks kind and open, we shared many stories during and away from the teaching sessions. The stories of the older working generation of the constraints and emancipation from Russian rule were important to hear for me. I also laughed more than I usually do both in work and also socially.
I found compared to home the place to be very religeous and that in that was something more than ritual. I was moved by the juxtaposition of stories of struggle and faith.

I wonder about angels sometimes, and am not sure what I think, but like to think that there are angels around somewhere in times of struggle and pain. I like this one because it is rough to touch and somewhat unrefined - if there are angels I kind of hope that they understand imperfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.