Appreciation

By Appreciation

I looked up today. I think for a while I have been looking down. I noticed a very different city. The skies were bright blue, the air was chilled, but no wind blew me over. The shops were ridiculously quiet, the assistants pleasant and helpful. I only heard one mother slipping into a new vernacular when speaking to her tot.

I heard carols, and Christmas tunes. I saw smiles and bright colours. I saw Dancer and Comet and Cupid. Rudolph was resting. I took better shots but I have never seen a live reindeer, or a dead reindeer come to that, so I wanted to record them. They seemed as pleased with the day as I was and they seemed to have far less than me. A lesson for us all perhaps.

On the bus home a young man wished his friend a Merry Christmas. A little one beside me said to her Daddy 'Why did that man say Merry Christmas Dad - Is HE the real Santa?'

I think I can hear that Ho! Ho! Ho! coming back into my soul!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.