Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Spirit of the blips!

Our work Christmas 'do' this afternoon was held at the FACT cinema which meant that all staff were offered the opportunity to show their favourite videos etc on one of the cinema screens. Exciting stuff!

I opted to show a loop of some of the photos from my blip journal and was a little nervous as it's the first time these have been seen in public beyond the supportive confines of blipworld... All went well in the end though and here you can see Leila enjoying the show (her 'New Shoes Fund' is still taking donations if you're interested!)

The soundtrack I picked for my, ahem, 'cinematic debut' wasn't particularly festive but, for me, it sums up perfectly what I love about this here blip site - the insight into the daily lives of my fellow blippers around the world and the shared experience of the everyday and the extraordinary which this site offers. It's dedicated to all of you, from me, with Season's Greetings!

Home With Me - Chumbawamba

(Your world, my world)
San Cristobal on New Year's Day
(Your world, my world)
Sunny beach, L.A.
(Your world, my world)
Blue and coral Kirkstall skies
(Your world, my world)
Timorese sunrise
(Your world, my world)
Fairfield Horseshoe in the snow
(Your world, my world)
Clashing worlds in Tokyo
(Your world, my world)
All the bars in County Cork
(Your world, my world)
Heavy rain, New York

I sailed the seven seas
Carved my love on trees
I brought the whole world home with me
Home with me

(Your world, my world)
Barcelona cobbled streets
(Your world, my world)
Paris, 1968
(Your world, my world)
Words along the Berlin wall
(Your world, my world)
When it's just about to fall

I sailed the seven seas
Carved my love on trees
I brought the whole world home with me
Home with me

(Your world, my world)
Graceland, Memphis, Tennessee
(Your world, my world)
Killing time, Napoli
(Your world, my world)
Autumn Warsaw, grey and green
(Your world, my world)
Kronstadt, 1917

I sailed the seven seas
Carved my love on trees
I brought the whole world home with me
Home with me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.