is doesn't disappoint

8:30pm and at home. We've got friends in visiting - I arrived home just a few moments before they did.

Today, I took the car towards work and parked up. Had a productive day of creating, editing and storing things, headed away to the dentist and had a pleasant check up.

Back into town in the car (which I don't enjoy doing). But it was for a reason - had a rehearsal for an event next year. I can't carry the guitar and assorted other things on the bike. Not for the distance that I needed to travel.

The rehearsal was, well, difficult.

I wasn't in a great place in my head, I broke a couple of strings and I don't think any of us were feeling it.

My reason for not feeling it sort of linked to the material we are playing. The songs are good fun and all, but they are lacking this key component.

Hope.

They are clever lyrics and interesting sounds, but they lack agape.

I guess there's a bit of me isn't quite clicking with them for that reason. Without hope, what have we got?

Without love, what is our motive.

Without faith, I won't survive.

And this speaks about a lot of what Advent is all about. Hope. Expectation. Anticipation. A greater day that waits.

But hope deferred makes the heart sick.

Maybe today is the greater day?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.