Today's Special

By Connections

Gifts Abounding

Today was the last day of the Bellingham Farmers Market 2011 season, and although my post-op eye is improving daily, I asked Phil to be my chauffeur and baggage handler.

The latter role, in particular, was much needed, as we stocked up on frozen local beef, lamb, sausage, and pork, as well as hardy vegetables, breads (to freeze), cookies (maybe to freeze), and more. And in addition to our prodigious shopping, all of the market volunteers were given holiday gift bags, filled with lovely things donated by the vendors and a card of thanks, and a gift bag also awaited me from the publishers of Grow Northwest, in which several of my photos have appeared on the cover and/or inside the magazine over the past few months. It was like Thanksgiving and Christmas rolled into one!

The vegetable gift bags above are from Rabbit Fields Farm, which had a beautiful display, as did all the other farmers at the market today. A family member will be receiving one of RFF's handsome garlic braids, but I'm keeping the gift basket of squashes from Sumas River Ranch for myself, as well as the recipes and handmade card that were included. I was tempted by these pretty centerpieces, too -- I wonder if the vendor would have given me the substitute candle as well?

Phil had another important assignment at the market today -- to photograph me holding the Saltire for the Scotland the World Over project. That's been on our "to do" list for some time, and now we can check it off -- a good feeling!

P.S. The young artist and entrepreneur featured in my Nov. 26 blip reached the monetary goal required for the special doll she wanted, which she happily showed me today. It looks as though that doll has already had a lot of love!)






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.