A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

A morning of work commences

Yes, even on a Sunday these fishermen have to work. Today is the day they sort the weeks catch discarding any dead or damaged Crab. Tomorrow first thing they will be transported to markets both in Britain and abroad.

Oddly enough their biggest earner is Velvet Crab. These crabs some years ago were discarded as being of no marketable value. Today they are really sort after. Also amongst the catch there will be a quantity of the larger Brown Crab.

It can be a pleasure to get up early for work particularly on a morning such as this. However like all red skys in the morning, they herald a poor day. Today is no exception. It has been raining onto an already treacherous road creating further ice.

I can tell you my walk down here was really tricky because it was so slippery and having got down here I couldn't get my tripod to stand without also sliding. Fortunately I had my remote shutter release with me so I could take photographs without touching the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.