The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

I'm Nuts About Nuthatches

Now here is a bird that has only featured three times in my blip feed!

This poor soggy one appeared back in the early days of the blog.

As did this more pristine version a couple of weeks later.

But he hasn't been seen again since he stepped up for nature back in March.

Which is quite incredible really, when you consider it is my favourite garden bird by a mile, and is my only ever present species in the 70 weeks I have been doing the BTO Garden Bird Watch.

I still have two birds visiting the feeders just about every day. I was hoping to see some more as evidence of a successful breeding, but as far as I am aware, they are the same pair since we moved in. There are more locally, so I live in hope.

It's been a massively busy day on the feeding stations. I've seen a good 20+ species in the garden today. The Westerly winds seem to have brought in a new flock of finches, as there were the first winter Bramblings and Siskins around today, along with some very fresh looking Chaffinches. The feeders are being emptied at a quicker rate than of late!

Took a few more shots whilst I was waiting to get this one.

Blue Tit In The Hedgerow

Greenfinch On The Feeder

The weather closed in for a bit, so I headed back in door to do some domestic chores!

I have just back blipped yesterdays incredible visit to Slimbridge for the Early Birders Walk. Almost sixty species of bird and 70,000 starlings in one incredible day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.