Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Bewleys

A quick jaunt in to town mid-morning in the hope of ticking off some items on my checklist for outstanding presents. Unsuccessful, unfortunately.

Passing by Bewleys coffee shop in Grafton Street, I spotted a Christmas display inside and joined a queue of people with cameras. I don't remember seeing this before at Christmas time, but it was certainly attracting attention today, and I wouldn't be surprised if it becomes a regular Christmas feature. Didn't stay for a coffee and sticky cake, though, which was a bit of a regular routine in the good old days, because the place was uncomfortably busy.

I didn't feel the time passing. Before I knew it, I'd been traipsing around the streets both north and south of the river for two and a half unproductive hours. I toyed with the idea of staying on in toen for a bite of lunch, but all the restaurants were check-a-block. Recession? What recession?

Highlight of the rest of the day was watching Kiki's Delivery Service on TV, an utterly charming Japanese animated film. Director Hayao Miyazaki later produced Spirited Away, another wonderful animated feature which has long been a favourite of mine. Kiki is less dark than Spirited Away, but equally sublime as an example of compelling film animation. Kiki more than made up for my disappointing shopping expedition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.