The Safe Route

I headed out this afternoon for a chat, a bite of food and a drink at a friends house in way of a birthday celebration.

I decided to go via the playing fields so that I could get a blip or two of the playpark in the snow.

I was amazed to find that the path had been cleared and gritted.
This is a path that passes no houses and years ago was not considered safe due to the scrotes that hung about in the underpass (when it wasn't flooded up to 3' deep).
Of course as soon as I had left the path that is not overlooked by houses and used by almost nobody and started to use the pavements ............ sheet ice with no signs of grit or snowplough.
Typical.
The council is obviously trying to ensure the hospital is not going to have any cutbacks but ensuring a high number of broken ankles, wrists and hips along with a good few head injuries and football stadium filling numbers of grazes and minor cuts attending the A&E department due to slipping on the untreated pavements.

I elected to head home the same way to avoid an evening waiting to be treated for minor injuries caused by falling. If I was going to end up there it would be as a rush job from a severe hiding from the junkies and who-hims hanging about in the underpass (which is quite a scary place in the dark with a drink in you I can tell you).

I was lucky - the pond life were obiously not out of the pubs and I got home safe and sound.

When I got home I found out that our sick friends drug pump had not been working properly. It has been replaced and she is now getting the correct flow of drugs so she is not in as much pain and the family actually got an unbroken nights sleep ...... no toast and tea at 4am last night.
It isn't going to extend her life - but it means she is a bit more comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.