Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

The Pentlands tradition

We had a lot of snow overnight on Thursday - no less than five inches at the high point on the moor. This is from the same location as last monday as we headed towards Edinburgh on an abortive shopping trip, for which the view was compensation.

This is the highest group of the Pentland Hills. From the left, West Kip, South Black Hill then Scald Law (the latter the highest at 579m).

My first ever hill walk was in this group with my Dad, circa 1961, when we lived in Penicuik. I can recall him telling me of walking them with his father when he lived in Colinton as a child. I have enjoyed them many times since, and I think my elder daughter's first hill walk was also along this stretch of the ridge, which we did when she was roughly the same age as I had been some thirty-odd years earlier, and as my father and grandfather had done some thirty years before that. I had never made this connection before writing this, and it brought a sniffle of memory for times and people now gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.