Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Death in Woking

I once wrote an article for the Financial Times about the deathly charms of Woking. The feature included something about Brookwood Cemetery, the subject of today's blip.

I came very closed to being blipped on the head by my wife before heading off here. She says the blipping is becoming an obsession and she may have a point as I've been enjoying back-blipping since getting the full membership for Christmas.

She's narked because I asked her if she would take the dogs with her to the supermarket but I know she'll enjoy walking them around the lake so I'm optimistic she'll return in a better mood. Dogs aren't allowed in the cemetery, of course, so I had to be dog free for this particular mission.

If you read the feature you'll find that Brookwood has a remarkable history. They used to bring the dead here from London by train. It is also the last resting place for thousands of servicemen and women from the two world wars and I hope their neatly-tended graves will feature here soon. I had some images of those today but there can be only one and I liked the way this angel was framed by the trees.

It reminds me of the angel pictures I used to see on my maternal grandmother's walls. They were always pictured carrying lost souls up to heaven. I suppose if you showed this image to a youngster in the UK today it would remind them of an episode of Doctor Who.

Got to go, I can hear the car in the drive and if I'm not there to help I might be needing this angel before the day's out..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.