Today's Special

By Connections

Twice the Pleasure

After yesterday's self-indulgent exploration of bizarre rose hips and lots of links, I needed a quicker blip today. This is one I've been saving for just that -- it's a Danish cut paper mobile that hangs at this time of year literally by a thread from the light over our dining table.

I bought it -- and several others -- locally some years ago from a shop specializing in goods from Sweden, Norway, Finland, and Iceland, no longer in business. Although I have no ancestors that I know of from those countries, I've long been drawn by the simplicity of Scandinavian design. These paper mobiles are wonderful for holiday decorating -- they are colorful, unbreakable, and take almost no room to store.

And, best of all -- I think this one is appropriate for both Christmas and Valentine's Day, with all those hearts and that big bow, and my birthday is shortly after that, so the mobile stays up until late February, gently circling above the table.

(You're not seeing the table because it is covered with wrapping paper, ribbon, labels, tape, gifts to be wrapped, cards to be written, and more. This is a very carefully composed photo!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.