LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Have An Ice Day

Just back in from a day in London, the last flights and work trips of 2011. Someone asked me today how many flights I have racked up this year and I didn't have a clue. I was the winner of the Most Miles Travelled award at our team awards ceremony, a good bit of fun banter before we headed off for our Christmas lunch. I was shortlisted for the Separated at Birth award for my resemblance to Tintin. Note to self - don't show your work colleagues blips that may come back to haunt you :-)

We went to the belowzero restaurant for a nice lunch (you cant beat scallops and beef) and then had a 40 minute session in the Icebar which is apparently the UK's only permanent bar made out ice and kept at -5c. It was quite a cool place - literally - sorry that was typed before I realised and if you want to see more, go and have a look over here.

This is my friend Claire encased in a block of ice harvested from the frozen River Torne in Sweden. Well, not really but it looks pretty smart and was my favourite photo that I took when I was in there. The wee Nikon did well in the freezing conditions although it did switch itself off a few times and at one point it was stuck to the palm of my hand! I had a pic taken of what looks like me trapped under the ice which is definitely the new facebook profile!

Glasgow office night out tomorrow, turkey and trimmings if it is on offer where we are going :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.