A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

The cake that wasn't

I had a party yesterday, with friends from work. The theme was velvet, and since I had to bring something (and I always bring dessert), I decided to bake a velvet cake. But because I love chocolate, I added chocolate in the middle, because there is never enough chocolate in the world.

All was going well: the cake was cooling on the stove, the icing (spices, in honor of christmas and all the festivities) was ready, the only thing left was to unmold the cake. So I started. Discovered that the cake was not totally cooked. No problem, I put it back in the oven. Took it out 30 minutes later. Still not fully cooked, but this time, it sort of... lost its shape. I blame the oven, seriously, I'm sure it didn't function properly, its old and badly needs to be replaced.

Short story is: I had to stop at a bakery to buy a pie. Wasn't happy. Cake is not salvageable. Here's the proof: the red goo is the velvet, transformed into a sort of lava cake. I figure, when something fails so brilliantly, you have to document it.

Just so you know: I can count on one hand the times I screwed up a recipe. Especially dessert...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.