Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

When all else fails, photograph your Blue Tits

Relief!
No more work until after Christmas and a day spent frantically whizzing around the shops getting urgent presents that will have to be delivered tomorrow. It made for a late return home and what little light the day has offered was disappearing fast. I've got a busy evening ahead so what to Blip?

The bird feeder! Source of endless movement, pretty birds and at this late hour, predominately Tits. I decided to challenge myself to take a maximum of 2 photos and post the best. This was the first.

There's good array of birds visiting my garden. Having four feed stations constantly topped up does help the birds, but not my pocket. My photographic stars are the Woodpeckers, Swallows in the summer, the Meadow Pipits who have taken to bathing in my pond and my resident Moor Hen who seems not to mind at all that the pond is only a deep 2 meters in diameter.

The Sparrow Hawk visits regularly as well. I help the little birds survive so consider it only right that she gets her food here as well. More than one person has thought my acceptance cruel but the hawk has to eat too and whether she catches them here or on the field makes no difference to the numbers she will take.

The only bird that should be here but isn't is a Barn Owl. Nijer seed sat untouched for months before attracting Goldfinch and there is now a small flock visiting with this years babies.

Enough about birds for today. Those presents need wrapping!









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.