The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The Hotspur Press

The Percy Bros Ltd Hotspur Press building in Manchester is on Gloucester Street, just round the corner from Oxford Road Railway Station. This historic building is still in use with several businesses occupying the premises.

There was a time when I visited Manchester I used to dash straight to our office, and when business was finished dash straight back to Oxford Road. Now with the blip imperative, I make a little time to explore. And until a couple of months ago I had never discovered this building.

I googled the building name to try and find out more about it. It's a relic from the Manchester textile industry. I haven't tracked down much more than that, so if anyone knows any more I'd be interested to know. Coincidentally, I came across a recent painting of the building which is exactly this view through the railway arch.

We were in Manchester for a Team Meeting, and afterwards went for our Xmas lunch in an Italian restaurant which is built into one of the railway arches close to where this photo was taken.

One more day of work to go this week. A couple of people pointed out to me yesterday that the shortest day will actually be the 22nd. So after tomorrow, days will start getting longer again and Spring is just round the corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.