Ausländer in Berlin

By scotinberlin

Train to oblivion

I have another telephone interview tomorrow and my first face to face interview on Thursday. Normally I have a very relaxed attitude to interviews, and since I?ve not been unemployed too much in my life it appears to have stood me in good stead. However, my (in) famous laidbackness is being strongly tested by having to carry out my interviews in German. I still consider myself to be an average Brit who only speaks English, however I may have to acknowledge, at least to myself, that I can speak German on some level since I?m getting called back for face to face interviews. The Germans are not renowned for their politeness, so I feel it?s inappropriate to attribute this unexpected success to politeness, although charity has still to be completely ruled out.

With my first impending face to face interview looming it was time to get my hair cut again. This in itself can be a worrying experience. After passing the sirens song of the cocktail bar I visited the hairdressers I use here. When you enter the salon you take a numbered ticket and wait your turn to be called. Since my hair is too short for a mullet I have one less thing to worry about, however there is always that nagging voice at the back of my mind: what if I make some subtle mistake, and I end up with a haircut that is completely inappropriate for an interview. My solution is to keep it as simple as possible: Kurz aber nicht zu kurz (short but not too short). Then I hope no further explanation is required and leave myself to the hands of fait, or at least the hairdresser.

Then it was time to head home with my new kurtz haircut just in time for a much needed German lesson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.