Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

French toast

...for breakfast.

Silly photo session with Photobooth.

Looking at yesterday's funny Santa video and photos from The Grove and still astounded at the $19 parking fee in the absence of any disabled parking.

Iceskating this afternoon but Callum suddenly was not keen. Joined by Cassandra and Dylan. Though Reuben will never, I suspect, be allowed to iceskate properly, nor indeed would he have the balance to do so, he was thrilled to be able to don skates and just hold onto the sides. I'm no skater myself and actually do little more than hold the sides myself but I'm trying!

Last year's Blip is one of my favourites of the boys.

So I have a question for anyone who knows my work. I've received an unexpected big work bonus in time for Christmas, actually a back payment and of course all I want to buy is a lens. What should I go for to accompany the 50/1.4 and the 85/1.8, the lenses I mostly use? Should I go to the L versions of these primes, the 70-200/2.8, 100/2.8 macro or 35/1.4?

But for starters, I got down to a recording studios in Santa Monica after responding to an ad on Craigslist, and picked the boys up a gorgeous old piano, beautiful notes but without the lid which actually wasn't such a bad thing in terms of keeping those 20 little fingers safe. It'll be wrapped up in brown paper with a huge red bow on Christmas morn. I must add that the boys were actually more interested in disabling the security system in the studio instead of the pianos, but that's a moot point. I'll just dream of the dulcet tones of children playing on the piano.

Some movie gems I've been watching in the run up to Christmas. Miracle on 34th St, Jim Carey's Scrooge (if you love Polar Express, you'll adore it). And tonight, Christmas Story, the story of how Santa came to be Santa, filmed in Finland. Snuggled up on the sofa, the air was filled with the scent of our beautiful tree as the boys were nestled into me on either side and eventually fell into their deep slumbers, all sweetly tired from iceskating today...

Backblip The Grove

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.