Platform Souls

Edinburgh Waverley, Platform 19, 1727 as the 1730 train to London (via Dunbar) pulls in. The last commute of the year for me. There's one more train in 2011 - on Friday to Berwick then on to Kelso - but that's me on holiday as of 5pm today. Phew. Survived another year with a salary.

Large square crop. 1/5th second, hand-held, no Vibration Reduction on this lens. Good result! I LOVE that everyone turns and watches the train as it comes in. Why? There's no reason other than that trains are cool, but they always do.

Today I started with great intentions - I would solve the, "Damn I left a bike at the station," problem by leaving at 07.30 and sauntering the 2 miles to the station whilst taking sunrise pictures, then cycle home in the evening. Brilliant! But... no.

I slept in, pottered about the house, and still tried to walk to the station - an hour later than I intended, leaving at 08.30 for the 08.54 train. 2 miles. Doh.

Five minutes in, I realised I wouldn't make it and started running. By the time I had 3 minutes left, the station was in sight and I was running as fast as I could. Made it! And cycled home, so it kind of worked. I haven't run for years so I'm expecting aching thighs tomorrow.

The rest of the day went better and I even squeezed in a beer with a nice fellow I work with before heading home for the children.

Last day at school tomorrow, so we're all excited.

No snow though, but Katie's sure it's coming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.