Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Go West, Young Goat!

Back to the urban mundane after yesterday's out of the ordinary.

This weathervane adorns the top of the soon to be developed derelict Midland Mills on Bradford's Canal Road. My excuse for being there is that it's just over the road from the retail park's 'big shops' where I was finishing off my Christmas shopping. The goat represents the fact that this mill was the home of British Mohair Suppliers. I'm not sure if the vane is still moving, but at least the crows get some use from it. There are lots of photo sets of the interior on various urban exploration fora.

I'd like to send you all a big thank you for your responses to yesterday's lenticular cloud blip, which has been an overwhelming flood of hearts and stars. It was an honour to be up there on the spotlight page for most of the day, alongside so many people who's journals I admire. It was a question of being in the right place in the right time, giving me a photograph of an exceptional thing, more than an exceptional photograph.

As promised, I've built a set of images that show the process of the cloud formation and dissolution, or if you're on a big screen, sit back and enjoy the show as it developed over five hours or so.

Like many I'll be struggling to keep up with comments over the next few days, but I'll be dipping in and out and will catch up with you all soon.

where the goat ~ lies down with the crow ~ the wind blows

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.