Capital adventures

By marchmont

Nearly there

Is it Christmas? Is it?

After being at the the 'Phil Cunningham Christmas Songbook' till nearly 11 last night (very good by the way, just a shame The Queen's Hall is a) so uncomfortable and b) so hot) I had the best night's sleep I've had for ages - I slept till 6 a.m.!

A morning in what L calls my 'horizontal office' I'm loving it, amazing what you can do with a Dell and a BB. Spoke to L and we're off to SCO in Jan (no-one willing to splash out on Nigel Kennedy) and 'Fascinating Aida' in Feb. Still lovin' it, still lovin' it.

Wrote notes and then eventually set off down the road for last minute stuff and veg. Said 'hello' to Gavin and got the sprouts.

#3 son and F went shopping and then off to the Omni. I spent the evening decorating the flat - very minimalist because it's too much effort to do anything else. I've never been this late before, still to wrap the presents. However, there are now prezzies below the tree - exciting because I didn't put them there!

Tomorrow - collect the bird, make soup, mince pies and trifle (which no-one will eat) and buche de noel. This year a lot of things I'd have made before when I had a my whole family to cook for (cranberry sauce, pudding, cake, etc etc) I have got from Tesco. The low maintenance, the low stress approach. Why didn't I do this year's ago.

Miss going to market and Micoleau with M. Such memories. I shouldn't, but I do, think about M. Is G enjoying being home in SA as I guess that's where she is by now? Is Jo'burg hot at this time of year? Strange how things you are told are seared in your memory - like 'who would spend Christmas in a cold country when they can spend it in a a hot one (ie SA). Sensitivity never was M's strong point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.